NCS and data downloads

Hi there, Im new to NCS and I think im missing the big picture, lol. I have a wireless ip cam, that has its own static ip address. It is viewable in netcam studio x. It is allocated the ip address of 192.168.1.213 with the port being 2130… If i have NCSX Open on the desktop, i notice that the monitoring program ‘netbalancer’ is showing that NCSX is dowloading data at the approx rate of 336kb sec, which it appears that my ISP is counting as downloaded data. What i can’t understand is why is this local traffic, (NCSX to router to local wirekess ip cam) being routed thru the internet? It says on the bottom, online @ http//127.0.0.1 :8100 which i understand is my local pc loopback address

You can easily see by running NCSX for 24hrs is going to subtract GB’s from my quota. I was assuming that the image from the ip cam is being sent to the router, of which NCSX knows where to look for it (configured static ip address) and internet was not involved at all as its all at a local level, hence no dowload charges…

I also notice that if NCSX is open on the desktop showing the live cam feed, data shows downloading 336kb/s as outlined above, but if u minimize NCSX to the task bar, the data download instantly drops down to 0kb/s. Should this happen?

I ask this because If you have the camera scheduled, and motion detect set up, but NCSX is minimised on the task bar, will it still start at the sched time and do motion detect, or does it have to be open on the desktop?

Many thanks,

Chris,
Perth, Western Australia

Hi Chris and welcome to NCS and the forum!

That is lot of relevant observations! For me you seems more like a pro :slight_smile:
Just some things here. Your computer and IPcamera are on the same LAN. When NCSX is running and you can view the video you have a download speed of 338kb/s which for me is very low since it is on the LAN. What type of video is it? HD, VGA or …? What FPS do you get? Look at the bottom right corner of the video.