NCS excessive pagefile writes wearing SSD drive

Has anyone experienced NCS causing excessive pagefile writes in Windows 10? I have a i7-6700 with 16 GBytes yet when I enable more than one camera it causes the System process to write at up to 100 MB/sec to my c: drive (SSD) causing excessive wear. This makes no sense as other large programs I run cause NO PAGE WRITES. It appears that the COMMIT size fluctuates wildly, giving indication of poor memory management in the application.

Hi Frank,
I had a look at this in different situations and I do not see this behavior as you describe it. However, I am not an expert in this so I ask our developer this comment on this.
-Henrik
@Steve

Your process has a high commit to working set ratio which typically means your programmers are allocating memory with the MEM_COMMIT option. If they are using page-backed file mapping objects, also called sections, this can cause the behavior I am seeing. I am running on a machine that typically has 10GB of free memory which rarely hard page faults. Running various applications from Chrome, Plex, trading software (2.9 GB commit), Adobe Premier, etc , the pagefile is very raely used. I monitor your process and System with two Resource Monitors for both Memory and Disk and the behavior is highly repeatable. The more cameras I source enable the more writes to pagefie occur.
If your guys are using memory mapped files for I/O and they are using any of the SEC_COMMIT type options as it will back the object with the pagefile. If anyone wants to remote access my server to they can or I can send screen recordings

1 Like

More interesting stuff. I was only running NCS which might explain my result. But, what you are saying is that NCS is written to have priority of RAM so when you run other programs at the same time these program are throw out from the RAM to give room for NCS. For me that seems logical since NCS is a real-time system and must have everything in RAM to work properly.

Henrik,