Help with new thoughts of what I should do

Hello… Im Patrick - Nice to kinda meet you all…
I am coming here with questions of where I should proceed…
I have been using webcam XP for about 15 years maybe or so - wow long time…
I am currently using webcam 7 and webcam XP…
I have USB - 3 Com Home Connect usb cames and usb logitech Pro cams in most of my rooms at home.
The quality is great and the speed is great - Comcast High Speed…
I have the cams open to the public but I have been eating DATA usage and paying for unlimited Data for a long time so that
a few FRIENDS and a few Family Members can see the cams and check in on my life and my mothers (since I help to care for her since she is 85)… With this being said - I would like to be able to assign passwords to my cams but I know this is a huge undertaking and would take alot of time and effect to know who has what or make sure to always give it out to people and that is kinda a pain…
I am running a computer in every room (via laptop or desktop) and that is what the cams run off of and a router.
IS there a better way to do this - I have tried the passwords before but its kinda a pain because of the giving it out but it helps with the data because it isnt unlimited all the time and to everyone out there… BUT i would also like to know with my current setup is there a way that I can set the software up to only start broadcasting when someone is on it… so that it just isnt there always running live data and sending out data to make me over 2 terabyte a month usage lol.

Any thoughts of where I can go with this please…

thanks everyone sorry I wrote so much …

Patrick

Hi Patrick!
Welcome to the forum after 15 years :slight_smile: I don´t think the forum have been around that long, but thanks for being a user for so long. You must be one of the first to have used the webcam software.