Outdated Filter Error

I have been using the free source filter for a few months and it has been working pretty well. However, a few weeks ago, I started to receive this black banner with red writing on all feeds using Moonware Universal Source Filter: "This version of the filter is outdated please download a newer version.” I downloaded the latest version from the website and the black bar still appears. What’s the “trick” to getting the software to recognize that it is the latest version? Or, is there another version that hasn’t been published to the website?

Hi,
Another user had the sane problem and it turned out that the license did not save properly in the License file. Go to C:\ProgramData\Moonware\Universal Filter and make sure that the license is saved properly and that the account you use have privileges to read/write the file Lic.dat
-Henrik

Thank you for the quick response! I was able to locate the lic.dat file within ‘C:\ProgramData\Moonware\Universal Filter’ folder. Users did NOT have read/write privileges. I added the privileges however still have the error.

I did notice that the file was last modified a little more than a year ago. Any way to “force” an update to the file now that the privileges are correct?

Send the license number to support and I will check in the server.

Where would I find the license number? We are using the free version.

Well, my next idea is to uninstall it completely and make sure that all files are removed as well as the lic.dat and then install it again.
I am using both licensed and unlcensed version with no problems.

I have just downloaded the filter. I am having the same problem, black banner with red writing to update. I uninstalled the filter and deleted the license from Program Data but it still shows the banner. Also I am getting some type of graphics distortion on the screen. I am using windows 10 64 bit.

Hi,
For the distortion it is usually two things: