Setting up a TP-Link NC230 cam and D-link DCS-936L

I am fairly new to Netcam Studio. I had no problem getting my old Logitech USB webcam to work, and I then added a D-Link DCS-936L cam, it was not in the list,but I got it to work perfectly with the next higher model number choice DCS-942L. I tried to get a second one, but they were not in stock, so I figured I would try something else and got a TP-Link NC230. Since the other two worked so easy, I just tried to plug away, but with no luck so far. I can view the cam from Internet Explorer, so I know I have it up and working on my network.

The cam stream is H.264 1280x720 VBR at 10 fps. I do not see any choices in the cam setup page to change it to MPEG or (m)JPEG.
The software or documentation I have found does not list port numbers or URL’s

Thanks for any help here

Hi Scott and welcome to the forum.
Well, plug away, is not always that easy ;). Some camera manufacturers like D-link have a very good documentation how to connect to their cameras. You can get that info in the configuration of the camera. Some manufacturer could be much better on that. However, take a look in the configuration of the camera if there is some interesting information. If not I have some tips for you to test:

-When adding the camera in NCS go to the tab Custom URL.
-The camera deliver HD using h.264 so set Stream type to rtsp_tcp
-The million dollar question is the URL and here are some suggestions that you should test:
rtsp://username:password@ipnumber:554/h264_hd.sdp

rtsp://username:password@ipnumber:554/h264_vga.sdp

Good luck,
Henrik

Thanks a lot. The first URL string “rtsp://username:password@ipnumber:554/h264_hd.sdp” with my information entered for the user,pswrd,and IP works in VLC. I will try it in Netcam Studio in the morning.

Excellent, thanks for the feedback. It helps other users with that camera.
I am sure it will work in NCS.
-Henrik

I got it up and running on Netcam Studio last night, the same URL worked.