Slow FPS and CPU issues - only in NCS

So this has been an adventure and one which doesn’t really shed NCS in a very positive light for me.

I’m going to start with the questions I need answered, which were not fully formed until the end of my discovery in writing this post, but I will post them once up top as a basis for where we are going:

1) How to accurately judge FPS in NCS?
2) Why have I been able to increase my FPS when it comes to recording, but my live view is so achingly slow?
3) Why is NCS apparently so inefficient compared to the alternatives in both properly utilizing the available CPUs resources and using so much of them?

Context: I’ve been using iNCS intermittently for a couple of years and most of the issues I always wrote off due to a an old junky FOSCAM model which was not getting very good FPS. I would say it averaged around 5-7, sometimes I’d see it as low as 3-4, and occasionally it got upwards of 8-10.

I had always discounted all my motion sensing problems (needing to set sensitivity too high to reliable get all person movement, but at the same time this triggered too many light related events) due to the fact this was just an older camera, with poor FPS, on a 2.4 WiFi connection that maybe wasn’t the most reliable.

So, I finally decided to improve my situation by purchasing a Reolink E1 Pro (ONVIF compatible). 4K camera @ 25 FPS with both wired and 2.4/5 Ghz WiFi.

Unfortunately, it seemed that my NCS problems weren’t any better and, in fact, seems the built in camera functions outperform NCS in almost every way (though there are still some reasons I would like to use NCS, and thus me bringing this issue up).

The issue was very low FPS compared to any of the alternatives

So it is a bit hard to measure true FPS in all cases. Not every client reports it directly and those that do, don’t always do it clearly or reliably (looking at you NCS). To understand my issue, it is best to first view this video.